Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Home » Argentina lift the FIFA World Cup

Argentina lift the FIFA World Cup

by admin
Messi won the World Cup 2022 with Argentina

Argentina have won the 2022 FIFA World Cup after winning on penalties following a 3-3 draw against France in the final.

Lionel Messi was the hero for his country as he scored twice to help his nation be crowned world champions.

Argentina’s victory ended a run of four straight World Cup wins by European sides.

The last South American champion was Brazil, when Japan and South Korea hosted the tournament in 2002.

Argentina won its previous World Cup titles in 1978 and 1986.

In Qatar, the country backed up its victory from last year’s Copa America, its first major trophy since 1993.

For France, defeat marked the second time in the space of five World Cups that they have lost the final on penalties since they were beaten by Italy in 2006.

Angel Di Maria won a penalty after Ousmane Dembele fouled the winger in the penalty box, which Messi comfortably converted past Hugo Lloris.

Di Maria then added a second after slotting the ball home from close range following a brilliant passing move from Argentina which cut Les Bleus apart.

Kylian Mbappe restored hope for France with two quick-fire goals late in the match, taking the game to extra-time.

However Messi blasted a third goal for Argentina in the 109th minute after a lengthy VAR check confirmed that it had crossed the line.

Mbappe was not done yet and sealed his hat-trick from the penalty spot in the 118th minute.

Penalty kicks beckoned and Lionel Messi scored from the spot in the shootout as France missed two penalties and saw Argentina take their crown as world champions.

Emiliano Martinez was the hero once again as he pulled off a brilliant save to deny Kingsley Coman before seeing Aurelien Tchouameni put his spot kick wide of the post moments later.

Gonzalo Montiel scored the winning penalty after sending Lloris the wrong way and immediately broke down in tears. Messi has followed in the footsteps of iconic Argentina star Diego Maradona in lifting the World Cup with his nation.

Messi was awarded the Golden Ball, recognizing him as the tournament’s most outstanding player. 

The 21 year old Benfica midfielder, Enzo Fernandez was chosen the Best Young Player of the Tournament.

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports