Thursday, June 13, 2024
Thursday, June 13, 2024
Home » Manchester City win Premier League: Records, stats and titles

Manchester City win Premier League: Records, stats and titles

by Tom
Manchester City win Premier League_ Records, stats

Manchester City beat West Ham on the final day of the Premier League 2023/24 to clinch the title regardless of Arsenal’s victory at Everton. 

The title was decided in the last matches of the league. Man City needed a victory to take control, while Mikel Arteta’s side expected Pep’s side to slip.

And Man City did what it took, a win to clinch the title at home as pitch invaders swamped in and caused a massive celebration scene.

More football news here

Manchester City won Premier League 2023/24: The records.

Man City is the first men’s team in the history of English football to win the top-flight title four years in a row, on a run that began in 2020/21. It is the sixth time the Manchester-based side won the league on the season’s final day.

The Spanish tactician has done an outstanding job, bringing the 6th success in eight years and the eighth EPL title in total.

Manchester City won 4th EPL title in a row
Manchester City won 4th EPL title in a row

City is now one of the most decorated Premier League clubs, with ten league titles, the first of which came 87 years ago.

The defeat of West Ham this time around took Man City to the 90-point mark for the fourth time in the Premier League era – they are the only Club to have reached that landmark four times, with Chelsea and Liverpool both doing it on three occasions.

Etihad is Man City’s fortress

This is the first season Pep Guardiola has gone an entire season without Premier League defeat at home, with a lengthy run of 30 unbeaten games since November 2022.

They have won 14 matches and drawn five in 19 home league games, collecting 47 points.

Talented individuals 

Not only the EPL trophy, Man City clinched two individual titles with Erling Haaland’s Golden Boot and Best Player of the Season.

Haaland’s 27 goals have earned him his second Golden Boot in his first two years as a City player.

It follows a record-breaking 36 goals in his debut campaign, with the 23-year-old now just the fifth man to claim the award outright in consecutive seasons.

He is also the first City player to win the gong more than once, with Carlos Tevez sharing the prize with Dimitar Berbatov in 2010/11 and Sergio Aguero hitting 26 in 2014/15.

Erling Haaland and Phil Foden won individual titles
Erling Haaland and Phil Foden won individual titles

English winger Foden has had the best season of his career. He won the Premier League Player of the Season and FWA Footballer of the Year, scoring 19 times in the league and laying on eight team-member assists.

In total, he created 73 chances across the season.

The Academy graduate has also played various positions for Guardiola’s team, demonstrating his supreme quality both in a wide-ranging deployment and in a more central creative role.

Foden is crucial for Man City this season
Foden is crucial for Man City this season

Magnificent number 6

This is Man City’s eighth league title in total, but a large part of the current squad has won it on all six occasions under Guardiola.

Kevin De Bruyne, Ederson, Phil Foden, Bernardo Silva, John Stones and Kyle Walker have been part of every title Man City has claimed since Guardiola’s arrival.

They are the most successful players in the Club’s history when it comes to league titles.

Invincible Rodrigo

Rodrigo has now gone 50 games without defeat in the Premier League.

That is the second-best run in the league’s history, with only Sol Campbell ahead of him on 56.

Thirty-four appearances came in this campaign, with the Spaniard missing three games through suspension and rested for the other.

His last league defeat was in February 2023, when we lost 1-0 at Spurs.

Pep’s amazing records

Pep Guardiola’s six Premier League titles cement his place as the second most successful manager in the division’s history, with only Sir Alex Ferguson ahead of him on 13.

In terms of top-flight titles throughout English football history, Guardiola has now tied George Ramsay and Bob Paisley for second place.

Ramsay led Aston Villa in the late 19th and early 20th century, while Paisley was Liverpool boss in the 1970s and 80s.

åSince arriving in 2016, he has been the most dominant manager in the league, collecting 716 points from his 304 matches. That puts us 59 points ahead of nearest challengers Liverpool and 149 more than Arsenal, who have been the third-best team over those eight seasons.

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports