Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Home » Day 1: Pujara rescues India vs Bangladesh

Day 1: Pujara rescues India vs Bangladesh

by admin

Match Details: 1st Test, India vs Bangladesh
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram

India started off confidently as their openers captain KL Rahul and Shubman Gill added 41 for the opening wicket. But after Gill fell to a poor shot, there was a mini collapse.

KL Rahul fell soon after, chopping Khaled onto his stumps.

In the next over, Virat Kohli played back to a length ball from Taijul that spun past his outside edge and trapped him lbw.

From 41 for no loss, India was reduced to 48 for three.

Then there was a brief revival as Cheteshwar Pujara and Rishabh Pant teamed up to add 64 for the fourth wicket. Pant fell soon after lunch for 46 (45b, 6×4, 2×6).

Thereafter the Indian innings was revived by a 149 run fifth wicket stand between Pujara and Shreyas Iyer.

This pair pulled India out of trouble as they batted resolutely.

Iyer survived a dropped chance at deep mid-wicket and carried his bat through.

Towards the end of the day Pujara fell finally for a brilliant 90 off 203 balls with 11 boundaries.

Iyer finished the day on a strong unbeaten 82 off 169 balls with 10 boundaries. But India suffered a setback as they lost Axar Patel off the last ball of the day for 13. 

Bangladesh’s fielding was a disappointment as they left off both Pujara and Iyer.

Pujara was on 12 when Nurul Hasan put him down off the bowling of Ebadot Hossain.

Iyer got two ‘lives’.

On 30, Nurul grassed a chance off Shakib Al Hasan. Then on 67, Ebadot put down a straightforward catch at deep Hasan Miraz.

India finished on 278 for six. For Bangladesh the best bowler was Taijul Islam (3-84)

Playing XI
India: KL Rahul (captain), Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rishbah Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Bangladesh: Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Litton Das, Nurul Hasan (wicket-keeper), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Match details: Sharfuddoula, Michael Gough (On-field Umpires); Chris Brown (TV Umpire); Gazi Sohel (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee)

India 278 for 6 (Pujara 90, Iyer 82*, Taijul 3-84, Mehidy 2-71) vs Bangladesh

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports