Thursday, May 30, 2024
Thursday, May 30, 2024
Home » KL Rahul shines but Western Australia stun India

KL Rahul shines but Western Australia stun India

by admin

KL Rahul scored 74 but India went down fighting against Western Australia in the second practice match at the WACA Ground in Perth. 

The absence of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav had an effect as team Team India fell short by by 36 runs.

In response to Western Australia XI’s 168/6, India could only manage 132/8.

Put to bat first by India, Western Australia lost an early wicket after opener Josh Philippe was dismissed for 8 off 9 balls by Arshdeep Singh, caught by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

WA was 15/1 at that point.

However, D’Arcy Short and Nick Hobson stabilised the innings and put up a partnership of 110 runs, with the duo posting half-centuries.

Eventually, Harshal Patel broke this partnership, sending back Hobson for 64 off 41 balls.

Patel also sent back D’Arcy after running him out for 52 off 38 balls.

India made a comeback into the match with these two quick scalps. WA was at 127/3 in 15 overs.

It looked like WA would make hay in the last 5 overs but Ashwin’s triple strike in 17th over turned the game on its head.

Harshal Patel had figures of 2/27 in his 4. Ashwin returned with 3/32.

Indian batters struggle

In reply, India struggled with the bat.

KL Rahul did end up with 74 runs off 55 balls but his sluggish approach put additional pressure on the other batters.

Pacers Jason Behrendorff and Matthew Kelly stuck to their line and lengths.

Rishabh Pant (9 off 11) sent to open, failed again.

Deepak Hooda was promoted up their order given his rich form but failed to make a mark and was dismissed by Lance Morris for a paltry 6(9).

Hardik Pandya walked in to bat at number four and immediately made an impact by smashing two massive sixes. But he soon fell to Hamish Mckenzie for 17(9).

Axar Patel (2) and Dinesh Karthik (10 off 14) also failed.

While KL Rahul did put his feet on the accelerator after scoring his half-century, he also fell to Andrew Tye for 74.

Team India had won the first match against WA by 13 runs as Suryakumar Yadav starred with a brilliant knock of 52 off 35 balls. 


Western Australia: Josh Philippe(w), D Arcy Short, Nick Hobson, Cameron Bancroft, Ashton Turner(c), Jason Behrendorff, Sam Fanning, Matthew Kelly, Hamish McKenzie, David Moody, Andrew Tye, Lance Morris

India: Rohit Sharma(c), KL Rahul, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik(w), Axar Patel, Harshal Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports