Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Home » Rohit Sharma to skip 1st Test vs Bangladesh

Rohit Sharma to skip 1st Test vs Bangladesh

by admin

The first Test against Bangladesh will get underway on December 14 in Chattogram.

Captain Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of at least the opening Test of the two-match series due to an injury on his left thumb.

KL Rahul will lead the side with Cheteshwar Pujara named as vice captain.

In Rohit’s absence, Shubman Gill is likely to open the batting with Abhimanyu Easwaran, who was leading India A in Bangladesh and is fine form.

The BCCI released an official statement about Rohit’s fitness.

“Sharma met with a specialist in Mumbai for his left thumb injury, which he sustained during the 2nd ODI against Bangladesh.”

“He has been advised appropriate management for this injury and will not be available for the first Test against Bangladesh.”

“The BCCI Medical Team will take a call on his availability for the second and final Test at a later stage.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Abhimanyu Easwaran as his replacement for the first Test.”

Fast bowler Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja are also yet to fully recover from their respective shoulder and knee injuries and are ruled out of the Test series.

The selectors have named Navdeep Saini and Saurabh Kumar as replacements for Shami and Jadeja respectively. 

Saurashtra’s Jaydev Unadkat has also been brought in to reinforce a pace attack that includes Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur.

Rishabh Pant, who had gone to Bangladesh with the ODI squad only to be released ahead of the first match last Sunday, has rejoined the team in Chattogram.

The injury comes at a bad time for Rohit Sharma.

The BCCI is taking many tough decisions after India’s defeat against England in T20 World Cup Semi and Rohit’s fitness has become a question mark. This can have an impact on his captaincy as well.

India Test squad for Bangladesh series

KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports