Home » 3rd T20I Tied due to rain, India win series 

3rd T20I Tied due to rain, India win series 

by admin

The Final T20I was inching toward a close before rain interrupted and forced the game to tie according to the DLS score.

However, India will be happy to take the trophy with a 1-0 lead and most importantly with a second-strength side. 

New Zealand          19.4 overs          160 all out 
Conway 59 (49)            Siraj 4-17
Phillips 54 (33)              Arshdeep 4-37
India         9 overs         75-4
Pandya 30* (18)               Southee 2-27    
S. Yadav 13 (10)               Sodhi 1-12    
                             Match Tied

Two games of this series were affected by rain but still, India would be a happier side as they have won yet another bilateral series in 2022.

Mohammed Siraj was the star for India in this match with the bowl. Chasing 161 runs, India was 75-4 at the end of 9 overs when the rain interrupted the match and the DLS was also 75 so, the match was declared tied as per the DLS method. 

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat first but they lost two important wickets in the powerplay.

The dangerous Finn Allen got LBW out for just 2 runs in the second over against Arshdeep Singh.

Mark Chapman who was playing in place of Kane Williamson failed to score big and got caught out after scoring run a ball 12 runs. 

Conway-Phillips stand 

New Zealand was struggling 44-2 in the 6th over but Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips build an excellent partnership to put their side in a comfortable position.

These two added 86 runs for the third wicket. Devon Conway scored a steady knock of 59 runs off 49 balls including 5 fours and 2 sixes.

On the other hand, Glenn Phillips smashed 54 runs from just 33 balls. The right-handed batsman slammed 5 fours and 3 sixes at a strike rate of 160 plus. 

A huge collapse 

New Zealand was marching towards a big total when they were 130-2 in 15.4 overs but the wicket of Phillips turned things quickly.

The Black Caps unbelievably collapsed from 146-3 to 149-9 courtesy of some brilliant death bowling from the Indian bowlers.

Mohammed Siraj was the pick-up of the bowlers as he scalped 4 wickets for just 17 runs from his 4 overs.

Arshdeep Singh also bowled beautifully in the final overs and took 4 wickets for his side. 

The top-order fails again 

Ishan Kishan and Rishabh Pant opened the innings once again for team India in this series but both of them failed to avail this big opportunity to score some runs.

Ishan Kishan was caught out for just 10 runs in the second over while Tim Southee dismissed both Rishabh Pant (11 off 5) and Shreyas Iyer (0 off 1) on consecutive deliveries to put India under pressure. 

Team India lost 3 quick wickets in the powerplay but they didn’t stop the flow of runs and continued to play aggressively.

Ish Sodhi grabbed the huge wicket of Suryakumar Yadav to get his side back into the contest.

India was 75-4 in 9 overs and the rain didn’t allow the match to proceed any further so, as per DLS score this game was declared a tie.

Hardik Pandya remained unbeaten on 30 runs off 18 balls.

Mohammed Siraj was declared the Player of the Match while Suryakumar Yadav won the Player of the series award. 

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports