Thursday, May 30, 2024
Thursday, May 30, 2024
Home » 1st T20: Shivam Mavi stuns Sri Lanka

1st T20: Shivam Mavi stuns Sri Lanka

by admin

Shivam Mavi proved his critics wrong by making a stunning debut for India in the 2st T20I versus Siri Lanka.

Mavi’s inclusion in the playing XI had raised a few eyebrows.

However, the young pacer picked up 4 wickets for just 22 runs and was instrumental in India’s win.

In the process, Mavi joined an elite group of Indian pacers who have taken 4 wickets on their T20I debut.

Barinder Sran(4 for 10) against Zimbabwe in 2016 and Pragyan Ojha (4 for 21) against Bangladesh in 2009 are the only 2 bowlers who have achieved this feat for India.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (3 for 9) and Axar Patel (3 for 17) have taken a three wicket haul on their debut.

Speaking at the post-match presentation ceremony, Mavi said, “The landing zone was a little slippery. Was waiting for six years after playing U19. Had to work hard in those six years – got injured as well.”

“For a while it looked like my dream will remain a dream. But I kept at it. Having played the IPL, the nervousness is a little less.”

“My idea in the powerplay is to attack and get them out. Favourite dismissal was the first one, getting him bowled,” Mavi continued.

Helped by Mavi, India held their nerve to sneak in a two-run win over Sri Lanka.

The young pacer picked up two wickets in the Powerplay, putting Sri Lanka on the backfoot.

He sent back Pathum Nissanka and Dhananjaya de Silva to kickstart his international cricket career.

As result,the visitors managed just 35 runs in the first six overs.

The other bowler who stole the limelight was young Umran Malik.

The young pace sensation returned with two wickets and conceded 27 runs in his four overs.

During his spell, Malik clocked 155kph on the speed gun, the fastest ball of the match.

Malik’s raw pace helped India get rid of the dangerous Dasun Shanaka, who was caught by Yuzvendra Chahal at extra cover for 45 off 27 balls. This wicket effectively swung the game in India’s favour.

His fast ball feat saw him eclipse Jasprit Bumrah’s record for clocking the highest speed among Indian pacers.

Bumrah’s highest speed recorded so far stands at 153.36 kph.

He is followed by Mohammed Shami (153.3 kph) and Navdeep Saini (152.85 kph).

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports