Monday, July 15, 2024
Monday, July 15, 2024
Home » Cricket World Cup 2023 Final: Everything you need to know

Cricket World Cup 2023 Final: Everything you need to know

by Tom
Cricket World Cup 2023 Final

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 finally comes down to the last game as India set to face Australia in the final in Ahmedabad.

For the first time since 2003, Australia and India will compete in the final of the Cricket World Cup, having come a long way to deciding the title’s fate.

CC Cricket World Cup 2023: Full Fixtures

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023- Jaw-dropping prize money

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 – New Zealand beat England

Cricket World Cup 2023: Quinton De Kock century beat Australia

Cricket World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma smashes six-hitting record as India beat Afghanistan

Virat Kohli: “It’s a bit awkward for me in front of the pavilion named after me”

Cricket World Cup 2023 – Current table situation

Cricket World Cup 2023: New Zealand beat Afghanistan to keep perfect record

Cricket World Cup 2023: Another world record was reached during India’s match against New Zealand

ICC World Cup 2023: England seamer Reece Topley ruled out with a broken finger

After 47 matches and six weeks of action, the Narendra Modi Stadium, in front of what is expected to be a record crowd at the 130,000-capacity ground, will host the final battle.

Here is all you need to know about the clash this Sunday in India.

Cricket World Cup 2023 – Path to the Final

Tournament hosts India have won all ten matches en route to a first World Cup final since their triumph on home turf in 2011, winning nine from nine in the league stage before beating New Zealand in Mumbai in the semi-finals.

Rohit Sharma’s side will face Australia in the final after the five-time champions beat South Africa in a tense second semi-final at Eden Gardens on Thursday.

Hosts India have won the Men’s Cricket World Cup twice in their history, first in 1983 in the UK and most recently in 2011 on home soil.

Australia are the most successful nation in the tournament’s history with five titles to their name, most recently in 2015.

The Aussies have won on each of their last four appearances in Cricket World Cup finals and go into Sunday’s encounter high on confidence after seeing off South Africa at the semi-final stage.

It was a six-wicket win for India when these teams met in the league stage of the tournament in what was both teams’ first game of the competition.

An excellent bowling performance, spearheaded by a three-pronged spin attack, saw India bowl Australia out for 199.

Australia will battle host India in the final
Australia will battle host India in the final

And even a disastrous start that saw Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan, and Shreyas Iyer all depart for ducks inside the first two overs wasn’t enough to prevent India from making a winning start.

Virat Kohli (85) and KL Rahul (97*) masterminded the chase, rebuilding well and steadily accumulating, with India reaching their target with 8.4 overs to spare.


The World Cup final between Australia and India will be played on Sunday November 19.


The final starts at 7:30pm AEDT, but Fox Cricket has you covered for all the pre-match coverage.

Australian legends Brendon Julian, Kerry O’Keeffe, and Mark Waugh preview all of the action live from 6pm AEDT.

The coin toss will then take place at 7pm AEDT, with the trio to offer some final words of wisdom immediately after before the action kicks off.

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports