Thursday, May 30, 2024
Thursday, May 30, 2024
Home » Cricket World Cup 2023: All you need to know about the knock-out stage

Cricket World Cup 2023: All you need to know about the knock-out stage

by Tom
Cricket World Cup 2023 semifinals_ All you need to know

Cricket World Cup 2023 semi-finals and final are almost upon us, with the four remaining teams, Australia, South Africa, India, and New Zealand, gearing up for three spectacular One Day International clashes.

As the Cricket World Cup 2023 semi-finals are edging closer, here is the list of all you need to know about the knockout stage.

CC Cricket World Cup 2023: Full Fixtures

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023- Jaw-dropping prize money

ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 – New Zealand beat England

Cricket World Cup 2023: Quinton De Kock century beat Australia

Cricket World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma smashes six-hitting record as India beat Afghanistan

Virat Kohli: “It’s a bit awkward for me in front of the pavilion named after me”

Cricket World Cup 2023 – Current table situation

Cricket World Cup 2023: New Zealand beat Afghanistan to keep perfect record

Cricket World Cup 2023: Another world record was reached during India’s match against New Zealand

ICC World Cup 2023: England seamer Reece Topley ruled out with a broken finger

Cricket World Cup 2023: India beat Netherlands

Australia vs South Africa in Cricket World Cup 2023 semifinals
Australia vs South Africa in Cricket World Cup 2023 semifinals

Match Schedule

  • Wednesday 15 November – Semi-Final 1: India vs New Zealand

The tournament hosts face the Kiwis in a repeat of a semi-final from the 2019 World Cup. This match will be held in Mumbai at the Wankhede Stadium.

  • Thursday 16 November – Semi-Final 2: South Africa v Australia

Big-hitting South Africa and Australia meet in a highly-anticipated match-up at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

  • Sunday 19 November – Final

The winners of the two semi-finals will meet in Ahmedabad.

Road to the last-four

India cruised through the group stage, finishing top on a maximum 18 points, having won all nine of their matches. India’s net run rate of 2.570 was far and away the best in the group stage.

South Africa were the second team to qualify, winning seven of their nine matches. An early loss to the Netherlands was a shock, and they also slipped to a heavy defeat to India after both teams had already secured qualification.

Australia bounced back from defeats to India and South Africa in their opening matches to win the remaining seven and qualify with 14 points.

AU vs SA CW 2023 Semi-finals
AU vs SA CW 2023 Semi-finals

New Zealand were the final team to qualify for the knockout stage, with a win over Sri Lanka and Pakistan’s subsequent loss to England earning the Kiwis fourth spot. Four defeats on the bounce after a strong start saw the Black Caps finish with ten points

Reserve days

Both semi-finals and the final can use a reserve day should a result be unable to be reached due to weather.

Prize money

An overall US$10 million pot has been announced for the tournament.

The tournament winners will take home US$4 million, with the runners-up winning US$2 million.

Teams will also collect US$40,000 for every group stage win.

You may also like

About M88 Sports

M88 Sports is a premier sports and entertainment news website that delivers the latest updates and in-depth coverage on everything related to sports, cricket and entertainment. From the latest scores and highlights to behind-the-scenes stories, M88 Sports has it all. Join our community today and stay up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of sports and entertainment.

Copyright @2022 All Right Reserved M88 Sports